View random article

10 Best the Antlers Songs

No band better traverses themes of failed relationships, the melodic cacophony of dysfunction, and the truthfulness of heart wrenching, teeth clenching, tear drenching emotive rock better than The Antlers. This Brooklyn, New York, based lo-fidelity, Indie/folk/rock band led by guitarist and vocalist Peter Silberman simultaneously delivers a punch to the gut, a stab to the heart, and a mind blowing narrative nearly too incredible for words. Listen for yourself with the following 10 Best The Antlers Songs:

1. Two

2. VCR (The xx Cover)

3. Putting The Dog To Sleep

4. In The Attic

5. Kettering

6. The Universe Is Going To Catch You

7. Hounds

8. Wake

9. I Don’t Want Love

10. Crest

The Antlers originated as a solo project from Silberman’s bedroom after he relocated to the Big Apple during 2006. Writing and recording material in a “kamikaze” style, Silberman fantastically (and fanatically) created content for two albums in a short amount of time. The first album, titled “Uprooted,” was a self released, self recorded journey into Silberman’s experiences and struggles as a musician. The second “In the Attic Of The Universe,” featured Silberman’s discontent with his solitary lifestyle. Produced by label Fall Records on November 6, 2007. “In The Attic...” includes heavy themes of loneliness woven with a metaphysical fascination set to the sound of well crafted musicianship. Interestingly, Silberman noted during an early interview that he was experiencing “religious misdirection” and sinking in a “low point” in his life which was only alleviated by pondering the vastness of the universe while he worked on materials for the album.

The good news is that Silberman’s efforts and loneliness quickly transformed when drummer Michael Lerner and multi-instrumentalist Darby Cicci joined the band.
Together the trio pounded listeners with what Billboard best describes as a unique “colossal-sounding chamber pop” sound. With Silberman playing harmonica, harp, accordion, and keyboards in addition to vocals and drums, Lerner on percussion, and Cicci on bass, vocals, trumpet, banjo, keyboards, and synthesizers, the Antlers evolved into one of the more powerful bands of this century.

Based on Silberman’s previously written but not yet recorded material, the trio quickly recorded and released two EPs, Cold Water and New York Hospitals. The addition of Justin Stivers on bass guitar polished the EPs and helped the group turn the material into a full length album titled “Hospice.” Self released during March 2009, the album quickly sold out, and the band later confessed that, at the time, they had “bit off more than they could chew.”

Through the analogy of a terminally ill patient and a Hospice worker, the profound quality of “Hospice” and its depiction of an unravelling emotionally abusive relationship, gripped the hearts of fans and critics. The album secured The Antlers’ foothold on the road to success and was quickly signed by Frenchkiss Records. The New York based label re-released Hospice (in remastered form) on August 18, 2009 and earned the group tremendous attention. The album was included on NPR’s Best Of 2009 album list, earned high praise from industry giant Pitchfork, and landed among the Top 70 Best Ever Albums of the 2000s.

During 2010, the group became the opening act for Indie rockers The National and also began headlining their own tour (for which Timothy Mislock joined the group on bass and guitar.) In addition to playing live, the band produced two music videos, and then returned to the studio to record material for its third album. The May 10, 2011 release of “Burst Apart” highlighted the band’s more refined yet customarily highly emotive, heart rendering style. Tracks like “Putting The Dog To Sleep” and “I Don’t Want Love” evoked, enticed, and enchanted listeners and critics. The album paved the way for the Antler’s first appearance on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon just months later, on September 6, 2011, with their performance of “I Don’t Want Love.”

In the days since, The Antlers have focused on progress. The group returned to the studio to record and delivered a powerful performance at the 2011 SXSW Festival. The group also continued to tour then went on to record and release its fourth album, titled “Together.” With emerging maturity of sound, steady beats, and an ethereal distortion, the album continued in the success of previous albums. Songs like “Tongue Tied” and it’s eighteen minute re-mix/jam track “Parenthesis,” plus an incredible cover of The xx’s “VCR,” the album further proves The Antler’s place in the spotlight and provided the space to explore. During 2012, the group’s release of the smokily sensual “Crest,” the spacey surreality of “Zelda,” and the horn-filled eerily comfortableness of “Drift Dive” singles will provide a great foundation for the Antlers’ fifth album.

Related Links:




Featured in Entertainment