View random article

10 Best Indie Rock Albums of Summer 2012

Nothing says summer like opening the windows and turning the radio up. To complement the sunshine or to pull you through a rainy day, we’ve created a list of the 10 Best Indie/Rock Albums Of Summer 2012. Great for a quick trip to the store or a cross country road trip or from an impromptu gathering to massive bacchanal, this list will certainly please even the most finicky listeners. Enjoy!

1. My Head Is An Animal by Of Monsters And Men

Described as “one of the best debuts of all time,” the release of “My Head Is An Animal” by Of Monsters Of Men is certain to be a staple of the season. With tunes like “Love Love Love” and “Little Talks,” the group grapples with the big issues of life: love, heartbreak, and reality - all to the melodic strum of guitars, percussion, and brass. This album is certain to make you tap your toes and smile.

Click here to purchase My Head Is An Animal by Of Monsters And Men from Amazon.

2. Synthetica by Metric

Metric has cornered the market on electric based glam since 1998 and their fifth album, Synthetica is riding the wave. Choosing a favorite track from this album is like trying to separate night from day. Songs like “Artificial Nocturne,” “Dreams So Real,” and “Nothing But Time” spin echoes of darkness twisted with the band’s standard catchy glitz and upbeat tempos. A surefire must have for any extended road trip, this album will certainly have you dancing in your seat.

Click here to purchase Synthetica by Metric from Amazon

3. Romancing by Devin

Anyone who has ever truly loved another knows precisely what a “Masochist” he or she is. And no other modern group truly illustrates that feeling through music the way that Devin does on the album Romancing. The album packs a punch straight to the heart with heavy guitars and percussion laced with honest lyrics, similar to a blend of the Rolling Stones meets the Ramones meets the Killers meets that lovable kid you went to school with that drove absolutely you nuts. Listen for yourself. You won’t regret it.

Click here to purchase Romancing by Devin at Amazon

4. In Our Heads by Hot Chip

As one of London’s finest electronic/rock/pop Indie bands, Hot Chip has it’s latest album stuck completely In Our Heads. The album pleasantly and infectiously blasts through the darkness of happiness and the lightness of hope with songs like “Don’t Deny Your Heart,” “Let Me Be Him,” and “Now There Is Nothing.” The group has released five albums since formation during 2000 but this album claims its place as best ever.

Click here to purchase In My Head by Hot Chip from Amazon

5. What We Saw From The Cheap Seats by Regina Spektor

Russian/American singer songwriter Regina Spektor worked for 8 weeks last summer in a Los Angeles studio with Mike Elizondo to complete one of her most powerful albums, What We Saw From The Cheap Seats. Full of her typical quirky yet truthful melodies, accompanied with her pure, raw talent on the piano, this album is polished to shine. Tunes like “Small Town Moon” and “How” capture the true genius of this artist.

Click here to purchase What We Saw From The Cheap Seats by Regina Spektor from Amazon

6. Lex Hives by The Hives

The Hives’ self promoted and produced, incredibly anticipated follow up to The Black and White Album is here. Lex Hives, the fifth album by this Swedish garage rock band, is perhaps one of the best they’ve ever recorded. From the beginning of the album, with “Go Right Ahead,” to the end with bonus track “Insane,” the Hives are certain to blast listeners to galaxies of melodic mastery. Plus, the album is pure fun.

Click here to purchase Lex Hives by The Hives from Amazon

7. Safe Travels by Jukebox The Ghost

Three piece Brooklyn based band Jukebox The Ghost burst on the music scene in 2003 and has been captivating audiences since. Featuring heavy guitars, pumping rhythms, and solid vocals, Safe Travels is perhaps one of the most thrilling albums of the year. Reminiscent of the Beatles with a sound similar to Ben Folds, this album reaches into the soul and makes listeners not only dance, but feel.

Click here to purchase Safe Travels by Jukebox The Ghost from Amazon

8. All Things Bright and Beautiful by Owl City

Minnesota based band Owl City began in a basement in 2007 and climbed to the top by promoting their talent since. The band’s third album, All Things Bright and Beautiful, sparkles as brightly as a priceless gem. Tracks blend the spacey feel of much of their previous albums paired with a distinct evolution custom of their unique style. Songs like “Alligator Sky” and “Dreams Don’t Turn To Dust” offer inspiring promise in a sometimes dark world.

Click here to purchase All Things Bright and Beautiful by Owl City from Amazon

9. Passion Pit

Passion Pit fans anxiously await the release of their latest Gossamer. Featuring the steady strength of previous albums, the band has only offered the first single, “Take A Walk” to satisfy the appetites of insatiable fans as they hungrily await the remaining tracks from the album. Certain to appeal to many, the Cambridge based band’s fifth album will be available July 24, 2012. In the meantime, enjoy the first two singles.

Click here to purchase Gossamer by Passion Pit from Amazon

10. The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than the Driver of the Screw and Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do by Fiona Apple

Fiona Apple is back and she’s doing what she’s done best since 1997: making people think with incredibly poetic, haunting lyrics about life, love, and everything between. Reflective, upbeat, honest, and a true masterpiece, this album ensnares you. And just when you think you can let go, Fiona makes you want more. Tracks like “Daredevil,” “Every Single Night,” “Werewolf,” and “Hot Knife” go straight to the heart and fill it with nothing but love.

Click here to purchase The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than the Driver of the Screw and Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do by Fiona Apple from Amazon

Related Links:

Featured in Entertainment