View random article

California State University, Northridge

California State University, Northridge (CSUN) is a public university located in San Fernando Valley, Northridge, California. A member of the 23-campus California State University system, CSUN was founded in 1958 as San Fernando Valley State College. It was only in 1972 that it adopted its current name of California State University Northridge.

Today, CSUN is one of the largest single-campus universities in the U.S. and serves as the intellectual, economic and cultural heart of the Valley. It remains committed to its goal of enabling students to realize their educational goals by offering them degree programs that allow them to either pursue higher education or complete their degrees.

These programs include courses leading to a Bachelor’s degree in 64 fields, Master’s degree in 52 fields, a doctoral degree in educational leadership, and 55 credential programs. Accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC),  the university is divided into nine colleges; namely: the Mike Curb College of Arts, Media, and Communication; Business & Economics; Michael D. Eisner College of Education;  Engineering & Computer Science; Tseng College; Health & Human Development; Humanities; Science & Mathematics; and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Online bachelor's degree-completion and master's degree programs for midcareer professionals and working adults are offered by Tseng College under the Extended Education Program. This serves as a good career investment for individuals wanting to acquire a better paying job.

Cost of tuition varies depending on the degree program chosen and whether the student is a legal resident of California or not. Non-residents are charged an additional US$372 per unit plus the regular fees every student is required to pay. Financial aid is extended in the form of grants, Federal work-study, scholarships, loans, and veteran’s affairs education benefits.

Source:  California State University, Northridge

Featured in Education