View random article

Lewis University Online

Lewis University is a private, Roman Catholic academic institution based in Romeoville, Illinois. It was established in 1932 as the Holy Name Technical School and was renamed the Lewis Holy Name Technical School in 1934, after Frank J. Lewis who helped finance the construction of some of the school’s buildings. The school went through several name changes since 1934 and received the name Lewis University - after almost 4 decades – in 1973.

Today, Lewis University offers more than 80 undergraduate courses and 20 graduate programs to its 5,800 students. Although most of the classes are held on campus, some degree programs can be earned completely online. The University’s online degree programs include Bachelor of Arts in Fire Service Administration, Master of Science in Public Safety Administration, Master of Science in Information Security, Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership. Master of Science in Nursing, and Master of Science in Aviation and Transportation.

The tuition for online graduate courses range from $575.00 per credit hour to $740.00 per credit hour. Tuition for undergraduate courses is almost the same, with the traditional course costing $730.00 per credit hour and the accelerated program costs $595.00 per credit hour. Tuition does not cover miscellaneous fees and may change without prior notice. Financial aid in the form of grants, loans, scholarships, and military discounts are available to eligible students. Information on how to apply for financial aid can be obtained by getting in touch with the University’s Financial Aid Office.

The admission requirements for Lewis University’s online courses are heavily program-dependent. More detailed information on application requirements and procedures can be requested from Lewis University’s Admissions Office or by contacting an Admissions Representative by phone or online.

Lewis University recently placed 58th out of 144 institutions in the US News and World Report’s ranking of best Midwestern Master’s Level Universities. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Featured in Education