View random article

What Are the Different Kinds of Vegetarians?

A person who does not eat any meat, poultry or seafood is called a vegetarian. They only eat vegetables, fruits, pasta, bread and other dairy products like milk and cheese. There are different kinds of vegetarians. A semi vegetarian is a term referring to a person who excludes red meat except for the fish and other animal products from their diet. Lacto-ovo vegetarian is a person who consumes all dairy products and excludes all meat, fish and poultry. Lacto vegetarian is a person just like a lacto-ovo vegetarian, but does not eat eggs. And the most extreme kind of vegetarian is called vegan. They do not eat dairy products like milk, cheese and yogurt because these are produced by animals. And the extreme vegan is called a fruitarian, they exclude all animal flesh and products, at the same time also exclude pulses and cereals.

These so called vegetarians have lived since the ancient times. Their reason for being a vegetarian is primarily because of their religious beliefs and health consciousness. They believe that killing an animal for food is a wrong doing, because they consider animals as sacred. But nowadays, people choose to become vegetarians because they wanted to live a healthy lifestyle. It lowers the cholesterol level of an individual and reduces the risk of certain cancers. On the other hand, vegans have a higher risk of having protein deficiency because of their strict no meat diet. But there are complimentary protein combinations that can substitute for meat proteins. Peanut butter sandwich is one example.

Featured in Health