View random article

What Is the PGA Championship?

The PGA Championship is an annual golf tournament conducted by the Professional Golf Association of America as part of the PGA Tour. It is one of the four major golf championship events, and it is the golf season's final major, usually played in mid to late August. It is a big money money event on the PGA Tour, the European Tour, and the Japan Golf Tour, with a purse of anywhere from $7 to $10 million dollars.

The PGA Championship is generally conducted at a small group of elite courses here in the United States including future events that are already set:
2009 – Hazeltine National Golf Club (Chaska, Minnesota)
2010 – Whistling Straits, Straits Course (Haven, Wisconsin)
2011 – Atlanta Athletic Club, Highlands Course (Johns Creek, Georgia)
2012 – Kiawah Island Golf Resort, The Ocean Course (Kiawah Island, South Carolina)
2013 – Oak Hill Country Club, East Course (Pittsford, New York)
2014 – Valhalla Golf Club (Louisville, Kentucky)
2015 – Whistling Straits, Straits Course (Haven, Wisconsin)
2016 – Baltusrol Golf Club, Lower Course (Springfield, New Jersey)

Some of the big name winners of the PGA include Tiger Woods, Padraig Harrington,Jack Nicklaus,Phil Mickelson,Ben Hogan,Vijay Singh,Nick Price,Payne Stewart and John Daly.

Featured in Sports