View random article

What Is the Vulva?

The external genital organs of the human female are called the vulva. Parts of the vulva include the mons pubis, the clitoris, labia majora, labia minora, the vulva vestibule, the vestibular bulbs, the vestibular glands, the urethra opening, the hymen and the vaginal orifice.

The mons pubis is at the top and is made up of fatty tissue which covers the pubic bone. Adult twomen usually have pubic hair which grows on the mons pubis. Within the vulva vestibule, The two sets of fleshy lips, the inner labia minora and the outer labia majora protect and cover the openings of the urethra and the vagina also called the birth canal. The opening of the urethra is situated above the opening of the vagina. Urine is excreted through the opening of the urethra. The vagina has various functions from child birth, menstruation to sexual intercourse.

The clitoris sits where the labia minora meet. The clitoral gland is covered by the clitoral hood, in almost the same manner as a foreskin covers the penis. The clitoris is very sensitive because it contains many nerve endings, under sexual stimuli, it can become erect and it causes orgasms for the woman.

Some glands in the vulva secrete fluids. Sebaceous glands which are all over the human skin continue into the vulva. The labia majora secrete oily sebum which acts as a lubricant. The Bartholin’s glands situated below the vaginal opening secrete mucous when a woman is sexually aroused to provide lubrication and ease sexual intercourse.

Featured in Health