View random article

What Was the Iron Curtain?

The Iron Curtain is a term that has been employed as a way of describing the boundary that basically separate the countries that are part of the Warsaw Pact and those that are part of NATO (North Atlantic Treat Organization). The Iron Curtain was basically in existence from 1945 up until 1991 when the Cold War finally ended.

The Iron Curtain is not only considered an ideological division that basically illustrated the common world view of Europe after World War II ended. It was also seen as a physical sort of division because it was hard for anyone to transcend the boundaries that were established. The eastern side of the Iron Curtain consists of countries that have strong ties to the Soviet Union. This included East Germany, Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, Romania, Bulgaria, and Albania. Yugoslavia was a country that was politically communist but it was not considered a part of the Eastern Bloc or behind the Iron Curtain. To the west of the Iron Curtain are the rest of the European countries that have a democratic government.

The Iron Curtain covered thousands of kilometers and basically divided the Eastern Bloc and NATO alliance nations. This was most apparent in the physical manifestation of the Iron Curtain – the Berlin Wall that divided East Germany from West Germany. In other areas, the Iron Curtain is nothing more than a chain link fence that marked the boundary between two countries. In other areas, it’s an area where many guards from both countries patrol their respective areas and where special government permission is needed in order to approach.

Featured in Education